

- I. Call to Order: Chair Tanta Myles (the University of Alabama) called the meeting to order at 2:48 PM
- II. Approval of Minutes: Secretary Laney McLean (Attain Partners) Laney called for the approval of the 2023 Spring Business Meeting minutes. Danielle McElwain motioned, and David Smelser seconded. All in favor – minutes approved.
- III. Recognition of Volunteers, New Members, and First-Time Attendees: Chair Tanta Myles (the University of Alabama)
- IV. Recognition of award winners (previously announced at the Spring Meeting): Chair Tanta Myles (the University of Alabama)
 - a. Pam Whitlock Rising Star Award Rebecca Wessinger (University of South Carolina)
 - b. Sandy Barber Volunteer Award Melissa Freudenberger (University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture)
 - c. Distinguished Service Award Kay Gilstrap (Georgia State University)
- V. Financial Report Treasurer Jaime Petrasek (University of Virginia) was not in attendance. Secretary Laney McLean (Attain Partners) reviewed the Financial Report. See slides for details.
- VI. Regional Officer / Committee Reports (SEE SLIDES FOR DETAILS):
 - a. Treasurer Jaime Petrasek (University of Virginia) was not in attendance. Secretary Laney McLean (Attain Partners) presented the Treasurer's committee reports.
 - 1. Philanthropy Coordinator: Melissa Freudenberger (University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture)
 - 2. Sponsorships Coordinator: Lorelei Sells (University of Tampa)
 - b. Secretary Laney McLean (Attain Partners)

- 1. Website Coordinator: Ford Simmons, (Medical University of South Carolina)
- 2. Social Media Coordinator: Alicia Lewin (University of South Carolina)
- 3. Public Relations Coordinator: Rebecca Wessinger (University of South Carolina)
- 4. Surveys and Evaluations: Coordinator: Jenn Garye (Florida State University)
- c. Immediate Past Chair Natasha Williams (Emory University) was not present. Chair Tanta Myles reviewed the Immediate Past Chair's committee reports.
 - 1. Nominations and Elections Coordinator: Ashley Pinkard (Arkansas State University)
 - 2. Site Selection

Scott Niles (Georgia Institute of Technology) The 2024 Spring Meeting will be held at the Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort in Ft. Lauderdale, FL, May 4-8, 2024.

Immediate Past Chair Natasha Williams will lead the 2025 Site Selection committee. Their work is underway.

- 3. RIII Research Administration Mentoring Program (RAMP) Program remains on hiatus.
- d. Chair– Tanta Myles (The University of Alabama)
 - 1. Honors and Awards Coordinator: Lee Broxton (Georgia Institute of Technology)
 - 2. New Members Coordinator: Tracey Louder (Auburn University-Montgomery)
 - 3. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Coordinator: Moniqua Holton (American Heart Association)
 - 4. Alumni and Emeritus Coordinator: Pam Whitlock (University of North Carolina, Wilmington, Emeritus)
- e. Chair-Elect Laneika Musalini (Columbus State University) was not in attendance. Chair Tanta Myles reviewed the Chair-Elect's committee reports.
 - 1. Volunteer Coordinator: Erika Ekvall Clark (Georgia State University)

2. Hospitality

Coordinator: *vacant* Tanta extended a call for volunteers.

3. Attendee Experience Coordinator: Tameria Mace (University of Central Florida)

- 4. Program Committee in progress for 2024 Chair: Laneika Musalini (Columbus State University) Co-Chair: Tanta Myles (The University of Alabama)
- Planning Committee in progress for 2024 Chair: Laneika Musalini (Columbus State University) Co-Chair: Tanta Myles (The University of Alabama)

Recognition of and thank you to all the volunteers serving on the 2023 Program and Planning Committees!

- f. Regionally-Elected National Board Member Emily Devereux (University of South Carolina)
 - 1. NCURA National reports (SEE ATTACHED APPENDIX)
 - 2. Emily presented a thank you plaque to Scott Niles in recognition of his years of service to Region III as Secretary, Chair-Elect, Chair, and Immediate Past Chair.
- VII. Old Business None.
- VIII. New Business
 - a. Results of July 2023 election and recognition of New Officers Chair Tanta Myles (the University of Alabama)
 - 1. Secretary: Rebecca Wessinger (University of South Carolina)
 - 2. Treasurer-Elect: Tamara Hill (Morehouse College)
 - 3. Chair-Elect: Jeanne Marie Viviani (Florida Atlantic University)
- IX. Adjourn

Having no questions or comments from the attendees, Tanta called for a motion to adjourn. Kay Gilstrap motioned; David Smelser seconded. Motion carried. Tanta adjourned the meeting at 3:11pm.